5th October 2017

QUT lecturers have been recognised for their excellence in delivering student learning in Australia’s highest awards for university teaching.

Professor Fiona Naumann, Associate Professor Nicolas Suzor and Dr Deanna Grant-Smith, were today presented with their Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning at a ceremony in Brisbane.

The awards celebrate quality teaching practices, innovation and the accomplishment of university educators in delivering a richer, more engaging experience for students.  

Professor Fiona Naumann

Professor Fiona Naumann, from the Faculty of Health, was awarded for her “sustained leadership in transitioning exercise physiology towards competency-based education through curriculum innovation, scholarly inquiry and strategic collaborations with the profession and universities”.

She has significantly influenced the exercise physiology profession to incorporate real-world relevance in national curricula and to support students to become confident and capable practitioners. 

Associate Professor Nicolas Suzor

Associate Professor Nicolas Suzor, from the Faculty of Law, was recognised for “inspiring teaching and transformational mentoring that helps law students flourish through real-world engagement, meaningful choices and knowledge co-creation shared as accessible resources”.

His goal as an educator is to empower law students to learn by inspiring curiosity and provide them with the support they need to succeed in both their studies and chosen careers.

Dr Deanna Grant-Smith

Dr Deanna Grant-Smith, from the QUT Business School, was recognised for “teaching a politics of hope and possibility to promote sustainability and social justice in the professional practice of tomorrow’s business leaders”.

As an early career educator she draws on research and industry experience, supporting her students to make a positive difference and to cultivate a critical voice around sustainability and ethical engagement.

Professor Naumann, Associate Professor Suzor and Dr Grant-Smith are among 89 individual and teams nationally to be awarded AAUT Citations.

Since AAUT's inception, QUT has received more than 110 awards across the Citations, Teaching Excellence and Program categories.

Media contact: Karen Milliner, QUT Media, 07 3138 1841 or k.milliner@qut.edu.au

After hours, Rose Trapnell, 0407 585 901 or media@qut.edu.au

Find more QUT news on

Media enquiries

For all media enquiries contact the QUT Media Team

+61 73138 2361

Sign up to the QUT News and Events Wrap