First published 11 August 2020

Emeritus Professor Carol Dickenson AM, David Moffatt and Adele Rice AM were awarded the honorary doctorates on June 30. The honorary doctorates, the university’s highest honorary award, will be conferred at future graduation ceremonies.

Professor Dickenson retired from her position as Provost at QUT at the end of 2019 after many decades of service. She is extremely well regarded in the higher education sector, having represented QUT on boards such as the Translational Research Institute and Queensland Tertiary Admissions Centre, and in a personal capacity as a Stuartholme School Board director and chair and member of the Australian Human Resources Institute Accreditation Body.

At QUT, Professor Dickenson played a major role in the development of the university, serving alongside three Vice-Chancellors and continues her service for the community as The Women’s College council (located at The University of Queensland) president. 

David Moffatt has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate at QUT.

She was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the 2016 Australia Day Honours in recognition of her significant service to tertiary education.

Mr Moffatt has maintained a connection to the QUT community through the Alumni program and the QUT Business School since graduating in 1985.

He was named QUT Outstanding Alumnus of the Year and Faculty of Business Outstanding Alumnus 2000. Mr Moffat has forged a successful career with 30 years’ experience as an operating executive and board member in telecommunications, financial services and infrastructure and essential services.

Adele Rice has received an
Honorary Doctorate from QUT. 

Mr Moffatt is currently the chairman and group CEO of Ventia Services group. He has served as Giant Steps Foundation director since 1995.

Ms Rice was acknowledged for her service to education in Queensland, primarily through second language education in Queensland, and Australia. Her work with Milpera State High School as an intensive English language preparation centre for refugee and migrant students is well known throughout the country.

She has many wards including a Churchill Fellowship, the Save the Children White Flame award, Queensland Multicultural Achiever award and the Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to secondary education and to the refugee and migrant community. She studied at Brisbane Teachers’ College, which is one of the foundation institutions for QUT’s Faculty of Education.




Media contact: 
Madeline Healy, QUT Media, 3138 3083 or
After hours, Rose Trapnell, QUT Media team leader, 0407 585 901,


QUT on Facebook QUT on Twitter The QUTube 

CRICOS No.: 00213J

More news