17th June 2022

QUT hosted the 2021 Queensland Australian Awards for University Teaching Ceremony last night, attended by representatives and award recipients of eight Queensland universities.

The audience heard from keynote speaker, Australian National University Professor Katerina Teaiwa, who won the 2021 AAUT Teacher of the Year award for her visionary leadership, teaching and mentoring and outstanding contribution to Pacific studies.

QUT Vice-Chancellor Professor Sheil said each of the award recipients had demonstrated evidence-based scholarly approaches to teaching and learning support.

Professor Sheil said each of the award recipients had demonstrated evidence-based scholarly approaches to teaching and learning support.

“The challenges of the past two years have made quality, engaging teaching more vital than ever to enable successful student learning experiences,” Professor Sheil said.

“A key component of the teaching designs of those being recognised tonight is the way in which they have embraced digital technologies to support student success.

“Queensland universities have won more teaching awards than other states and this is reflected in the deep commitment to providing quality learning experiences at our institutions."

QUT lecturer Dr Katherine O’Brien, Professor Vinod Gopalan and Dr Diana Tolmie from Griffith University received Teaching Excellence awards.

Dr O’Brien is a leader in physical-education teacher-education and has pioneered immersive blended learning combining digital technology, peer teaching, real-world observations and assessment.

Professor Gopalan has led innovation and student success in histopathology education.

Dr Tolmie has elevated the status of the professional musician, ensuring graduates possess the tools and knowledge to adapt and transform an industry.

Twenty-four teachers from eight universities received citations for their curriculum design to enhance student learning, assessment and wellbeing.

QUT citation recipients were:

From top left: The QUT Kitchen Lab team - Dr Dana Burfeind, Dr Christine Devine and Joshua Reilly; Dr Samuel Cunningham; Dr Brendan Moy; Associate Professor Marianella Chamorro-Koc.

Associate Professor Marianella Chamorro-Koc for empowering industrial design students to deliver professional-level solutions to complex, authentic and global design challenges for real-world clients.

Dr Samuel Cunningham for improving learner engagement and understanding of challenging concepts in large electrical engineering classes.

The QUT Kitchen Lab team of Dr Dana Burfeind, Dr Christine Devine and Mr Joshua Reilly for their innovative approach to supporting scientific literacy and technical skills training.

Dr Brendan Moy for developing agents of change in physical education teaching through an innovative, research-informed, university teaching experience.

QUT Media contact:

Niki Widdowson, 07 3138 2999 or n.widdowson@qut.edu.au

After hours: 0407 585 901 or media@qut.edu.au

Find more QUT news on

Media enquiries

For all media enquiries contact the QUT Media Team

+61 73138 2361

Sign up to the QUT News and Events Wrap

QUT Experts

Before we make your booking

We just have a few questions before booking you in for a 30-minute appointment with us.

Please note that we can only call Australian phone numbers.

What option best describes you?