04 April 2017

Sponsors, staff and guests gathered to congratulate five new recipients of the QUT Faculty of Law Founders' Scholarship, awarded to first-year Law students experiencing financial hardship.

This year's recipients, Samuel Broadbent, Chantel Leadbeater, Jacob Prior, Petros Mizis and Rebecca Buckholz, had the opportunity to connect with their sponsors and past scholarship recipients at a celebratory morning tea.

Luke Mountford, Partner at HopgoodGanim and Chair of the QUT Law Founders' Scholarship Fund Committee, addressed attendees.

"I am passionate about the fund and the power of education, and believe our scholarships positively impact on our students and also those who contribute to the fund." 

"Today I am excited to mention that HopgoodGanim Lawyers, of whom I am a Partner, have committed to a second sponsorship of a four year Law Founders’ Scholarship," he said.

Sponsors of the scholarship include HopgoodGanim, Gadens, DLA Piper Australia, and individual scholarship donors, Dan Brown and the Executive Dean of the QUT Faculty of Law, Professor John Humphrey who assisted in presenting the awards.

Jade Wainwright, who was awarded the Dan Brown Law Founders' Scholarship in 2016, spoke to guests about her experiences and provided new recipients with tips to help them throughout their journeys at QUT.

"I would like to thank all the donors in this room for being here and for changing the lives of so many people throughout the years."

"Receiving this money means being able to secure accommodation, food, clothing, and much more. It means less anxiety and provides a support system of wonderful staff who will help you no matter what you’re going through," she said.

We encourage you or your organisation to get involved with QUT by engaging with and supporting our current students through initiatives such as the QUT Faculty of Law Founders' Scholarship.

QUT Faculty of Law
Information on the QUT Faculty of Law Founders' Scholarship Fund

Dan Brown, Partner at DLA Piper with his scholarship recipient, Jade Wainwright.

2017 Law Founders' Recipients with Luke Mountford, Kimberley Arden, Dan Brown, Professor John Humphrey, and Bruce Humphrys.


Faculty of Law

  • Twitter
  • Level 4, C Block
    Gardens Point
    2 George St
    Brisbane QLD 4000
  • Postal address:
    QUT Faculty of Law
    GPO Box 2434
    Brisbane QLD 4001

Got a question?

The Faculty of Law support team is here to help.