QUT Torts Moot

2020 competition cancelled

Due to the social distancing measures and travel restrictions imposed to manage the COVID-19 situation, the Law School has made the decision to cancel Torts Moot 2020.

For further updates regarding QUT Torts moot please monitor this website for future information.

About the competition

The QUT Torts Moot is an international mooting competition hosted by QUT's School of Law.

It's a unique event that provides insights into torts practice. Each year we welcome teams from universities across Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific.

Mooting builds essential skills for legal practice, including legal research, advocacy and teamwork.

The moot final takes place in the Supreme Court of Queensland, adjudicated by eminent judges and high-profile legal professionals.

Location and facilities

QUT's Faculty of Law is located at Gardens Point, close to the heart of Brisbane CBD.

The QUT Law Library and computer lab facilities are available for teams.

Preliminary rounds of the competition take place in our simulated courtrooms, providing an immersive experience.

QUT Gardens Point campus maps and information

Library and courtrooms

Visit Brisbane

Past competitions

2019 competition prize winners

  • 1st Place: Bond University
  • 2nd Place: University of New South Wales
  • Best Mooter (Preliminary Rounds): Rachel Li, University of Sydney
  • Best Mooter (Finals): Campell Windsor, Bond University
  • Spirit of the Moot Award: University of South Pacific

Judges in the 2019 Finals

  • The Honourable Justice John Bond
  • His Honour Judge David Kent QC
  • Dan Rogers

More about the 2019 competition

Previous winners

  • 2018 Monash University
  • 2017 Monash University
  • 2016 Griffith University
  • 2015 Bond University
  • 2014 University of Sydney
  • 2013 University of Sydney
  • 2012 University of Queensland
  • 2011 University of Sydney
  • 2010 Bond University
  • 2009 University of Queensland
  • 2008 University of Queensland
  • 2007 University of New South Wales
  • 2006 Macquarie University
  • 2005 Queensland University of Technology
  • 2004 University of Queensland
  • 2003 James Cook University
Bond University team, winners of the
2019 QUT Torts Moot


Contact the QUT Torts Moot Coordinator for more information.