The Centre for Healthcare Transformation established within the QUT Faculty of Health

First published 29 November 2019

Research capacity in QUT’s Faculty of Health continues to grow with the establishment of the Centre for Healthcare Transformation. The new University Research Centre, which aims to transform healthcare for better lives, is one of nine centres announced by Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Margaret Sheil.

“The University Research Centres are established with the primary purpose of developing high-quality, critical mass in research capabilities that are nationally and internationally leading,” Professor Sheil said.

“These centres represent our research strengths that have a global reputation and provide a focus for strong external engagement.”

The Centre for Healthcare Transformation will be co-directed by Distinguished Professor Patsy Yates, Head of the School of Nursing, and Professor Steven McPhail of the School of Public Health and Social Work.

The Centre’s multidisciplinary team will collaborate on high quality, relevant research and transform it into practical insights to enable effective change for health service partners.

A key objective of the Centre will be to strengthen Indigenous health research capacity to improve health systems, services and outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

The Centre will also extend national and international partnerships and associations, building research capacity and generating beneficial learning experiences for health services researchers and health service providers.

Distinguished Professor Yates and Professor McPhail join esteemed colleagues in leading new centres that reflect QUT research strengths:

  • Centre for the Future Enterprise – Professor Michael Rosemann
  • Digital Media Research Centre – Professor Jean Burgess and Associate Professor Michael Dezuanni (Associate Director)
  • Centre for the Digital Child – Professor Susan Danby
  • Centre for Healthcare Transformation – Distinguished Professor Patsy Yates and Professor Steven McPhail (Co-Directors)
  • Centre for Biomedical Technologies – Associate Professor Travis Klein
  • Centre for Data Science – Professor Kerrie Mengersen
  • Centre for Materials Science – Professor Dimitri Golberg and Associate Professor Kathryn Fairfull-Smith (Co-directors)
  • Centre for Robotics – Distinguished Professor Peter Corke and Professor Michael Milford (Deputy Director)
  • Centre for Agriculture and the Bioeconomy - Professor Sagadevan Mundree and Professor Ian O’Hara (Deputy Director).