First published 12 December 2019

Over the past week, the QUT Esport Tigers went head to head against seven top International university teams at the International College Cup (ICC) hosted by the World University Cyber Games (WUCG) in the city of Sanya, China. 

Across 8 days, 8 teams from universities in Australia, China, Japan, Russia, South America, North America, and Europe competed over a prize pool of $20,000 USD with $8000 USD going to first place. The competition was broadcast live in China to over a million concurrent viewers as the biggest Intervarsity League of Legends Tournament took place at the WUCG Esports Festival.

The three QUT Students who are 2019 OCS Scholarship holders, Jason ‘hi and goodbye’ Nguyen, Zihong ‘Unspecialized’ Li, and Henri ‘Feint’ Magisson were joined by William ‘Tekker’ Marinic and OCS Coach, Kevin ‘Vacarria’ Nguyen in their qualifying match against the University of Queensland with the QUT Tigers coming out on top and securing their spot in the ICC in China.

Upon arrival in Sanya, the team got straight back to work training together for the competition while also interacting with other players from the varying university, seeking every opportunity to learn new things from these international players.

On the 3rd of December, Day 1 of 2 of the competition began with the second match of the day being Queensland University of Technology versus Jiangxi University of Technology. Jiangxi being a fan favourite in China after winning the competition previously, brought in over a million live viewers for this match. After a good match, the Chinese team came out on top with QUT moving on to verse the Japan team from Tokyo University of China to stay in the competition. Unfortunately, after a close game, the QUT Tigers were knocked out of the competition by Japan.

Despite the outcome, the QUT players were very happy to have been given the opportunity to play against such strong teams on the international stage and have been inspired to learn new ways to play League of Legends going into 2020.