13 February 2017

Olympians, Emeritus Professors and a former Queensland Premier were among this year’s Australia Day Honours recipients with links to QUT

There were 25 members of the QUT community honoured across six categories, being recognised for their outstanding and diverse contributions across many aspects of Australian life.


Former Queensland Premier and previous member of the QUT Council The Honourable Anna Bligh AC was honoured for “eminent service to the Parliament of Queensland, particularly as Premier, to infrastructure development and education reform, as an advocate for the role of women in public life, and to the not-for-profit sector.”


Emeritus Professor Raymond Frost AO was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for “distinguished service to science higher education as an academic, researcher, and author, particularly in the field of vibrational spectroscopy, and as a mentor for young scientists.”

Professor Frost joined QUT (then QIT) in 1966. He “retired” in 2009 and was awarded the title Emeritus Professor, but still spends three days a week at QUT mentoring students and reviewing papers in his office.

Alumnus Ms Roberta Brazil AO (GradDipLegalPrac 1987) and Ms Tina Coco AO (DipAppSc(Nursing Mgt) 1990, GradCertHlthMgt 2008) were also appointed Officers of the Order of Australia.

Ms Brazil was awarded this honour for her “distinguished service to tertiary education governance, to agricultural, environmental and resource management organisations, and to women in rural and regional areas.”

Ms Coco was awarded this honour for “distinguished service to community health as a leader of, and advocate for, organ and tissue donation and transplantation coordination organisations at the state, national and international level.”


Adjunct Professor in the School of Information Systems at QUT, Mr David Barbagallo AM was recognised for “significant service to the information technology industry, to higher education, to business, and to people with disabilities.”

Former Director of the QUT Cultural Precinct and donor to QUT, Dr Sue-Anne Wallace AM was recognised for her “significant service to the not-for-profit sector, particularly through charitable fundraising reform and establishing codes of practice.”

Alumnus and former adjunct professor in the School of Urban Development at QUT Mr Robin Fardoulys AM (GradDipBuilding 1982, BAppSc(Built Environ Build&QS) 1986) was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for “significant service to the building and construction industry, to standards and policy development, and to tertiary education.”

The late Dr Peter Parodi AM (DipIndustrial Chemistry 1959, MAppSc(Research & Thesis) 1979) was recognised for “significant service to science as a biochemist, and to the dairy industry through contributions to studies in human nutrition.”

Former chair of Urban Studies, Emeritus Professor Robert Stimson AM was recognised for “significant service to science as a researcher and academic, particularly in the discipline of analytical human geography.”

Emeritus Professor Christine Deer AM, a donor to QUT,was recognised for her “significant service to education as an academic and author, to professional learning associations, and to the community.”


Current QUT students and Olympians, Miss Bronte Campbell OAM and Miss Rachael Watson OAM were awarded Medals of the Order of Australia in the General Division for their service to sport as gold medallists at the Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games respectively. Alumnus, Ms Gemma Etheridge OAM (BAppSc(MedRadTech) 2007), was also recognised for service to sport as a gold medallist at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Mr Daryl Hanly OAM (MEd 1994), who was awarded an Honorary Doctorate at QUT in 2014 for his service to the community and to QUT, was recognised in the Australia Day Honours list for his for service to secondary education in Queensland.

Mr Ian Jarratt OAM, who has been a member of the QUT Human Research Ethics Committee since 2003, was recognised for his service to the community, particularly to the rights and protection of consumers.

A number of other alumni were also awarded Medals of the Order of Australia in the General Division, including:

  • Mr Kristian Wale OAM (BA/Bed(Prim) 2006) for service to youth, and to the community.
  • Mr Graeme Stratford OAM (GradDipCommercial Computing 1982) for service to higher education administration, and to the community.
  • Associate Professor Mark Roth OAM (BAppSc(Optom) 1984) for service to therapeutic optometry, and to professional bodies.
  • Mrs Mary Peden OAM (DipPharmacy 1957) for service to botanical organisations, and to philanthropy.
  • Ms Cecily Pearson OAM (DipTeach 1972) for service to the Crown, and to public administration.
  • Dr Darryl Gauld OAM (DipEd(Sec-Comm) 1982; Bed(In-Service) 1986) for service to education, and to social justice and human rights.
  • Mrs Gwenyth Cutler OAM (CertTeach 1956) for service to people with autism.


Alumnus Mr Gerald Murphy PSM (BE(Civ) 1990) was awarded a public service medal for his outstanding public service to the transport and main roads sector, where he has been a driving force for over 44 years.


Lieutenant Colonel Nicholas Duff CSC (GradCertNursing 1997) and Lieutenant Colonel Daven Pettersen CSC (GradDipInfTech 2003) were both awarded Conspicuous Service Crosses, for their devotion to the Australian Army.

Lieutenant Colonel Duff was recognised for his outstanding devotion to duty to clinical training and preparedness of health services personnel as the Deputy Director of Clinical Services, 2nd General Health Battalion, from 2012 to 2015.

Lieutenant Colonel Pettersen was recognised for his outstanding devotion to duty as Deputy Director International Engagement, Army.

Congratulations to all the talented and dedicated alumni, donors, students, former and present staff and volunteers who were honoured.