Outstanding Alumni Awards

Our alumni have made an incredible impact on local, national and international communities. The QUT Outstanding Alumni Awards recognise our graduates for their exceptional professional, academic or research achievements and contributions.

Each year we select winners in these categories:

  • QUT Alumnus of the Year
  • Young Alumnus of the Year, for graduates under the age of 35
  • an Outstanding Alumni Award from each faculty
  • Special Excellence Awards, made at the discretion of the Chancellor's judging panel
  • Alumni Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Young Alumni Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship.

2018 awards

This year's Outstanding Alumni Award winners will be announced on Tuesday 7 August 2018.  You can join us at the 2018 Outstanding Alumni Awards Breakfast Ceremony. The event will begin at 7.15 am, ending at 9.00 am and will be held at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre. Tickets are $50.

2017 award recipients

Alumnus of the Year
Darryl McDonough
Young Alumnus of the Year
Kate Gifford
Innovation and Entrepreneurship Outstanding Alumni Award Winner
Joel Pobar
Young Innovation and Entrepreneurship Outstanding Alumni Award Winner
Michael Brett
Special Excellence Winner for Achievements and Contributions to Indigenous Communities
Wayne Denning
Faculty Award Winners
Christine Corbett (QUT Business School)
Peter Greste (Creative Industries Faculty)
Hon. Leeanne Enoch, MP (Faculty of Education)
Tina Coco AO (Faculty of Health)
Darryl McDonough (Faculty of Law)
Michael Dempsey (Science and Engineering Faculty)


Alumni and Development Office

  • Level 3, A Block, Room 322
    Gardens Point
    2 George St
    Brisbane QLD
  • Postal address:
    QUT Alumni
    GPO Box 2434
    Brisbane QLD 4001