Creative Industries

School of Communication

About the School

We provide authentic learning experiences focused on:

  • digital media
  • media and entertainment industries
  • journalism
  • professional communication

Find out more about our communication courses

In our courses, students analyse communication dynamics in local and international environments and develop professional expertise for graduates who will be employed in these rapidly evolving environments. Students engage with written, spoken, and visual literacies as well as evolving digital media platforms in the communication industries.

All our courses are infused by our world-leading research, principally based in the QUT Digital Media Research Centre. Our research in Communication and Media Studies is ranked first in Australia and number 16 in the world by QS World University Rankings. We are also the only university that has been ranked “well above world standard” in Communication and Media Studies by the Australian Government in every national research quality assessment exercise since 2010.

QUT Digital Media Research Centre

The Digital Media Research Centre conducts world-leading research for a creative, inclusive and fair digital media environment.

Visit the Digital Media Research Centre website


Our expert team of researchers and teaching staff in the School of Communication.

School Management Team

Acting Head of School

Associate Professor Susan Carson

Discipline Leaders

Associate Professor Stephen Harrington

Dr Kevin Sanson

Program Director (Undergraduate Program Director)

Associate Professor Susan Carson

Postgraduate Course Coordinator

Associate Professor John Banks

Director – Digital Media Research Centre

Professor Jean Burgess

Higher Degree Research Training Coordinator

Associate Professor Peta Mitchell

School Coordinator

Mrs Carmen MacQueen

Executive Support Officer

Ms Wendy Freeman

Digital Media Research Centre


Professor Jean Burgess

Associate Director

Associate Professor Michael Dezuanni

Distinguished Professor

Distinguished Professor Stuart Cunningham


Professor Axel Bruns

Capacity Building Professor

Professor Amanda Lotz

Associate Professor

Associate Professor Peta Mitchell


Dr Brendan Keogh

Postdoctoral Fellow

Dr David Myles

Centre Coordinator

Mrs Tess McGlone

Data Scientist

Dr Brenda Moon

Senior Research Assistant

Dr Amber Marshall

Research Assistant

Ms Nicki Hall

Research Associates

Dr Marion McCutcheon

Dr Kim Osman

Technical Support Officer

Mr Ehsan Dehghan


Creative Industries Faculty

  • Postal address:
    QUT Creative Industries Faculty
    Musk Ave
    Kelvin Grove QLD 4059