Outstanding Alumni Awards

The Outstanding Alumni Awards recognise our Australian and overseas graduates for exceptional professional, academic or research achievement and contribution to the community at local, state, national or international levels.

Tuesday 29 July 2014
7.15am for 7.30am - 9am
Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Plaza Terrace Room, Plaza Level cnr Merivale and Glenelg Streets, South Brisbane

The following awards will be announced at the ceremony:

  • QUT Alumnus of the Year (chosen from the Faculty Winners)
  • Outstanding Young Alumnus
  • Six Outstanding Faculty Award Winners
  • Special Excellence Awards (may be presented)
  • Special Excellence in Research Award (may be presented)


2013 Award winners

Creative Industries Faculty 2013 Outstanding Alumni Award Winner and joint 2013 QUT Alumni of the Year

  • John Barrow
  • Rod Sheard

Outstanding Young Alumnus

  • Dr Daniel Timms

Special Excellence Awards

  • Dr Merrilyn Banks
  • Justice Tashi Chhozom

Faculty winners

In faculty order:

  • Major General Paul McLachlan, AM CSC (QUT Business School)
  • Dr Lyn Bishop (Faculty of Education)
  • Dr Merrilyn Banks (Faculty of Health and 2013 Special Excellence Award Winner in Contribution to Community Healthcare)
  • The Hon. Jarrod Bleijie MP (Faculty of Law)
  • Dr John Russell (Science and Engineering Faculty)

Read more about our Award recipients


Alumni and Development Office

  • Level 1, A Block, Room A111
    Gardens Point
    2 George St
    Brisbane QLD
  • Postal address:
    QUT Alumni
    GPO Box 2434
    Brisbane QLD 4001