Outstanding alumni

The Outstanding Alumni Awards recognise our Australian and overseas graduates for exceptional professional, academic or research achievement and contribution to the community at local, state, national or international levels.

2014 Awards

The 2014 Outstanding Alumni Awards will be held on Tuesday 29 July 2014 at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Nominations close on Friday 21 March 2014.

How to nominate for the 2014 Outstanding Alumni Awards

2013 Awards

The 2013 QUT Alumnus of the Year was announced on Tuesday 23 July. In a first for QUT, the awards ceremony was also broadcast live to events held in Canberra, Melbourne and Sydney. Over 500 people attended events across Australia.

Read the full details on all 2013 award winners

Announced were:

Joint QUT Alumni of the Year (Chosen from the faculty winners)

  • Mr John Barrow and Mr Rod Sheard

Young Alumnus of the Year

  • Dr Daniel Timms

Special Excellence Award Winners

  • Dr Merrilyn Banks
  • Justice Tashi Chhozom

Also awarded were the 2013 Faculty Award winners:

  • Major General Paul McLachlan, AM, CSC: Head Land Systems, Defence Materiel Organisation (DMO) (Business)
  • Mr John Barrow and Mr Rod Sheard: Senior Principals, Populous UK (Creative Industries)
  • Dr Lyn Bishop: Principal, Sheldon College (Education)
  • Dr Merrilyn Banks: Director, Nutrition and Dietetics & NHMRC Health Professional Training Research Fellow, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital (Health)
  • The Honourable Jarrod Bleijie MP: Attorney General and Minister for Justice, Member for Kawana, Queensland Parliament (LNP) (Law)
  • Dr John Russell: Managing Director, Russell Mineral Equipment Pty Ltd (Science and Engineering)

The 2013 Outstanding Alumni Awards are proudly sponsored by the National Australia Bank (NAB), Coca-Cola Amatil, GJI, Tynan Mackenzie and Medibank Private.

Award winners

2013 winners

2012 winners

2011 winners

2010 winners

2009 winners

2008 winners

2007 winners

2006 winners

2005 winners

2004 winners

2003 winners

2002 winners

2001 winners

2000 winners

1999 winners


Alumni and Development Office

  • Level 1, A Block, Room A111
    Gardens Point
    2 George St
    Brisbane QLD
  • Postal address:
    QUT Alumni
    GPO Box 2434
    Brisbane QLD 4001